Blog

Interview with MusicBoxPete

Have an exclusive sit down chat today with three of CT’s hottest musical commodities, Twin Berlin! The guys have left an indelible impression on me as of late, and absolutely tore to shreds The Middle East Downstairs a couple of weeks ago which I had the pleasure of attending and interacting with some of the members afterwards. Lead vocalist and guitarist Matt Lopez was nice enough to take some time out to talk to MusicBoxPete about the group’s beginnings, their most recent effort “Sleazebrain“, and what makes them so unique and original. Here is the transcript from our chat:

Give us your names and what you do in the band?
Sean plays bass, James plays drums, and I (Matt) play guitar and sing.

How did you guys meet and when did the band form?
James and I met in Boston and played together in an earlier version of the band. Sean and I grew up a town over from each other in CT and met at the bar.

How did you decide on the name ‘Twin Berlin’ for your band?
I had a live Lou Reed record, American Poet, and there’s a song on it called “Berlin”. It’s partially named after that.

What musical influences inspired you growing up and how has it helped shape or influence the sound of the group?
The Strokes were definitely very influential on me when they came out. And records like Pinkerton, In Utero, and Surfer Rosa. When I was writing songs for Sleazebrain I was thinking about how all the little inaccuracies in each record gave them so much personality, and I’ve always been more into a rawer writing and recording style.

Continue Reading at MusicBoxPete

